What Are the Situations When DUI Becomes a Felony?

Learn about when driving under the influence (DUI) can become a felony charge and how an experienced lawyer can help defend your case.

What Are the Situations When DUI Becomes a Felony?

Robert Nye is an exceptional lawyer with absolute integrity and honor. Maines made me feel like I was his first priority. Nye has gone far above and beyond my expectations. If you have been arrested for DUI, you may be concerned that your crime is a felony.

In general, most DUI convictions in Georgia are misdemeanors, which puts them on par with movement violations, such as running a red light or causing a minor car accident. However, there are certain situations where your criminal conviction will be escalated to a felony. If you have been charged with DUI, contact our Savannah criminal defense lawyers for a free consultation. If you are convicted of DUI that caused someone's death, you will receive a sentence of three to 15 years in prison.

If you cause a serious injury to someone, you will be sentenced to between one and 15 years in prison. The criminal defense attorneys at The Nye Law Group in Savannah can represent you if you have been charged with DUI. We will work to ensure that you are treated fairly throughout the legal process. In some jurisdictions, if you are arrested for DUI while violating other laws at the same time, the charge may rise to a felony level.

For example, in some states, if you are driving with a suspended license and are arrested for driving while intoxicated, the offense may be considered a felony. If your license is restricted, suspended or revoked, it's very bad news to get caught for DUI. In Georgia, driving under the influence charges are generally misdemeanors, but in certain circumstances, DUI can be charged as a felony. If you were charged, but not convicted, 10 years and 10 days from the date of your fourth DUI offense, then you would face a misdemeanor charge.

In the United States, only a few “categories of driving under the influence cases” are charged as a felony DUI. Not only did Richard Lawson and his very capable associate manage to reduce my DUI to reckless parole driving, but he did something I didn't think was possible. Anyone convicted of a third or subsequent DUI within 5 years or any combination of three of the predicate offenses, including fleeing or attempting to evade, running, leaving the scene of an accident, DUI, homicide with vehicle, serious injury by vehicle or fraudulent or fictitious use or application for a driver's license, shall declared a habitual offender. Every experienced DUI lawyer at the law firm must have full command of DUI laws and possess training in all aspects to successfully challenge the criminal case of driving under the influence.

In fact, in situations where a defendant has been detained for DUI and submitted a blood test, our firm has had situations with a 0.0 BAC result returned from our independent laboratory. While laws vary from state to state, the following are some common situations that can result in improvements in DUI sentencing. By contrast, the only misdemeanor DUI that triggers a five-year revocation under Georgia's DUI laws is when the conviction is for a third high-level HIV offense within a five-year period. Each state's DUI felony laws also determine whether sentences can be “cumulative” or must be sentenced simultaneously, for a single collision that causes serious injury or death.

We will work tirelessly to help you as we hold your hand with compassion throughout the entire DUI advocacy process. You could be charged under PC 187 for second-degree murder as long as you have a previous DUI conviction and were given a “Watson Notice” when you were sentenced for previous DUI.

Abel Banter
Abel Banter

Infuriatingly humble internet specialist. Hipster-friendly pop culture scholar. General twitter nerd. Extreme travel practitioner. Total food enthusiast. Hardcore social media aficionado.

Leave Message

All fileds with * are required