In 1990, California made a major change to its DUI laws by reducing the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit from 0.10% to 0.08%. This was followed by the implementation of administrative laws that allowed for the immediate suspension of a driver's license for those arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). Since then, the state has enacted a number of laws that have increased punitive penalties against drunk driving, including laws that prioritize DUI convictions for up to 10 years. In addition, California has become proactive in educating its officers about signs of drug-influenced driving (DUID).
As a result, drivers operating in this market are held to a higher safety standard than those who operate vehicles for personal use. For a first DUI offender, you may face 2 days in jail, but you will receive an additional 48 hours if you refuse the BAC test. Previous DUI convictions within 10 years count against you and increase the mandatory minimum sentence, the length of your driver's license suspension, and the length of your alcohol education program. In recent years, the federal government has become more involved in state drunk driving policies.
This has led to increased administrative and criminal punishments for later DUIs and laws specifically addressing accidents or injuries caused by drunk driving. In some states, jail time is mandatory for a first DUI conviction, but offenders can sometimes avoid actually having to serve jail time by doing house arrest, community service, or some other alternative sentencing option.Looking ahead, California and other states are expected to have stricter laws: lowering the blood alcohol level once again, making DUI a priority for more than 10 years, causing longer license suspensions, increasing fines, and making ignition interlock devices (IID) mandatory for a longer period of time. As a reminder, no administrative action is taken when an offender is arrested for DUI due to drugs (provided there has been no refusal). California also prohibits people on probation for a DUI conviction from driving with a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.01% or more pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23154.It is important to remember that anyone who is charged with DUI in any local California jurisdiction today has the right to a free and reliable DUI arrest review to ensure there were no violations of legal rights with the field sobriety testing protocol that can make the entire DUI case dismissed.