Getting a DUI in Missouri can be a daunting experience, especially if it's your first time. You may be wondering what the consequences are and how you can avoid them. In this article, we'll discuss what happens when you get a DUI for the first time in Missouri, including the potential penalties, fines, and license suspensions. If you are convicted of a DWI or BAC for the first time, you will face a 90-day suspension of your driver's license.
You may be eligible for a Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP) during this period. The maximum sentence for a first offense is six months in jail, although the judge may suspend this sentence and require two years of probation or court-ordered substance abuse treatment instead. If your BAC is higher than 0.08%, you will face an automatic suspension of your driver's license for 90 days. You must request an administrative hearing within 15 days of your arrest to avoid this suspension.
If you refuse a breathalyzer test or other request for urine or blood tests, your license will be revoked for one year. You can file an appeal within 15 days to prevent this revocation from taking effect until your appeal is decided. For two or more convictions, the minimum jail time is 30 days with some community service options for early release. You may also face fines as part of your sentence, and these can be reduced with the help of an experienced DUI lawyer in Missouri.
You may also be eligible to have your DUI removed from your record after 10 years if you have not been charged with a felony DUI, have not been arrested for any alcohol-related driving offense since, and your DUI was not for driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence. A knowledgeable DUI lawyer can help you understand the process and ensure that all of your rights are protected. Finally, it's important to note that your ability to drive after your DUI arrest is an administrative matter that is not related to the outcome of your criminal case in court. However, if you are convicted of DUI and any other traffic violation, your license could be suspended due to too many points.