Getting a DUI in Georgia can be a costly and time-consuming process. The state has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country, and the penalties for a first offense can be severe. In this article, we'll discuss the different types of DUI charges, the potential penalties, and the costs associated with a DUI conviction. In Georgia, there are two types of DUI charges.
The first is a “common law” DUI, which requires the state to prove that it was less safe for the person to drive due to alcohol or drug ingestion, or that they were unable to drive safely. The second type of charge is called “DUI per se” and applies to drivers 21 years of age or older who have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 grams per cent or higher. For drivers under 21, the legal limit is 0.02 BAC. The American Medical Association (AMA) is pushing for a lower statutory limit of BAC below 0.08%.
If you are stopped by a Georgia patrol and your BAC is 0.08% or higher, you can be arrested for drunk driving. The penalties for a first DUI in Georgia can include jail time, fines, community service, DUI school, alcohol or drug treatment, and license suspension. The minimum jail time for a first offense is 72 hours, and the minimum license suspension is 120 days before an interlock option can be requested. In addition to these immediate costs, having a DUI on your record can affect you for years after conviction.
Every year in Georgia there are more than 200,000 DUI arrests, with Atlanta's five metropolitan counties accounting for more than 20,000 arrests each. The cost of defending a DUI can often be much lower than the costs you experience after conviction. It's important to seek legal representation as soon as possible after being charged with a DUI in order to protect your rights and minimize the potential penalties.At Richard Lawson Law Firm, we understand how difficult it can be to face a DUI charge. We will work tirelessly to help you throughout the entire DUI advocacy process.